The Daily Bulletin

Alert:

testing.

About
learn about our college

Admissions
Investing in yourself pays lifelong dividends

Financial Aid
Helping students pay for college

Academics
Providing university transfer and in-demand career programs

Student Services
Helping students succeed

Workforce Training
Offering non-credit courses for both business and pleasure

Center for Workforce Development
Meeting the area's workforce needs

Foundation
Enhancing Walters State through private support

Alumni
Providing opportunities for alumni to reconnect

Campuses
Making education convenient

Expo
Providing agribusiness, educational and commercial activities and events

Contact
Get in touch with us

Athletics
Go Senators!

A-Z Index
Search our site alphabetically

Communications and Marketing
We keep you connected

Directory
Search our team

Quality Enhancement Plan
Student learning and teaching effectiveness development

IET
Information and educational technologies

Printing Services
Supplying the institution with quality printed materials

Business Office
Serving students and college departments

Global Connections
Bringing international events to our students

Senators Emergency Text
Get the latest emergency communications

Support Staff Council
Providing resources for our staff

Special Events
Bringing new experiences to our students and community

Catalog & Student Handbook
Requirements and college information

Academic & Events Calendar
Keep tabs on important dates

Human Resources
Assisting in hiring, training, evaluating, rewarding and counseling of employees

Dr. Jeff T. Horner

Dr. Jeffrey T. Horner
Professor of Biology and Dean of Natural Science
423-585-6954
jeff.horner@ws.edu

Ed.D., East Tennessee State University - Educational Leadership ; M.S., East Tennessee State University - Biology; B.S., East Tennessee State University - Biology

Sherry Woody

Sherry Woody, C.P.S.
Secretary 3
Secretary to the Dean
423-585-6928
sherry.woody@ws.edu

A.S., Walters State Community College

Kristina Weinreich

Kristina Weinreich
Secretary 1
423-585-6865
kristina.weinreich@ws.edu

Stanley Strickland

Stanley Strickland
Learning Center Specialist/Executive Aide
423-585-6867
stanley.strickland@ws.edu

B.S., East Tennessee State University – Biology

Betsy Richardson

Betsy Southerland
Learning Center Specialist
865-286-2771
elizabeth.southerland@ws.edu

M.S.- University of Georgia- Environmental Toxicology; M.A.T.- National-Louis University- Elementary Education; B.S.- Illinois State University- Biology

Biology

jackie denson

Jackie D. Denson
Instructor of Biology
865-774-5840
jackie.denson@ws.edu

M.S. University of Maryland Baltimore County; (ABD) University of Arkansas; B.S. Tennessee Technological University

Mark Dunaway

Mark Dunaway
Instructor of Biology
423-585-6880
mark.dunaway@ws.edu

M.S., East Tennessee State University - Biology; B.S., East Tennessee State University - BiologyA.S., Southwest Virginia Community College - Science

Dr. Lisa A. Eccles

Dr. Lisa A. Eccles
Associate Professor of Biology
423-318-2768
lisa.eccles@ws.edu

Ph.D., Old Dominion University and Eastern Virginia Medical School - Biomedical Science; M.S., The Medical College of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University - Medical Technology; B.S., Christopher Newport University - Biology w/minor in Chemistry; A.A., Santa Fe Community
College - Chemistry

Dr. Laurence Fleming

Dr. Laurence Fleming
Professor of Biology
423-585-6971
laurence.fleming@ws.edu

Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute – Biology; M.S., Mississippi St. University - Zoology; B.S., Southeastern Louisiana University - Zoology

Dr. Pamela B. Fouche

Dr. Pamela B. Fouche'
Professor of Biology
423-585-6874
pamela.fouche@ws.edu

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University - Microbiology; M.S., University of South Carolina - Biology; B.S., University of South Carolina - Biology

Ashley Frazier

Dr. Ashley D. Frazier
Instructor of Biology
423-585-6887
ashley.frazier@ws.edu

Ph.D., James H. Quillen College of Medicine at ETSU - Biomedical Sciences: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
B.S., University of Tennessee - Microbiology

Elesha Goodfriend

Elesha D. Goodfriend
Instructor of Biology
423-318-2775
elesha.goodfriend@ws.edu

M.S., Florida Institute of Technology - Biological Oceanography; B.S., Morehead State University - Secondary Biology Education;

Dr. Abigail Mabe

Dr. Abigail Goosie
Assistant Professor of Biology
423-585-2656
abigail.goosie@ws.edu

Ph.D., James H. Quillen College of Medicine at ETSU - Biomedical Sciences; B.S., East Tennessee State University -
Biology

Dr. Greg Grass

Dr. Greg Grass
Assistant Professor of Biology
865-774-5855
greg.grass@ws.edu

D.C. Doctorate of Chiropractic 1983 Logan College of Chiropractic, St. Louis, MO; B.S. Human Biology 1981 Logan College of Chiropractic, St. Louis, MO; A.S. Applied Science, Respiratory Therapy 1974 St. Louis Community College

Dr. D. Cyd Grice

Dr. D. Cyd Grice
Area Coordinator of Natural Science, Sevier County Campus and
Associate Professor of Biology
865-774-5824
cyd.grice@ws.edu

D.V.M., University of Tennessee - Veterinary Medicine; B.S., University of Tennessee - Animal Science

Dr. Donald Lindsey

Dr. Donald Lindsey
Professor of Biology
423-585-6862
donald.lindsey@ws.edu

Ph.D., Auburn University - Plant Pathology; M.S., Auburn University - Botany - Zoology; B.S., University of North Alabama - Chemistry -Biology

Jaime Parman-Ryans

Jaime Parman-Ryans
Assistant Professor of Biology
423-798-7974
jaime.parman@ws.edu

M.S., James H. Quillen College of Medicine ETSU - Biomedical Sciences: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Additional Graduate Work James H. Quillen College of Medicine, ETSU; B.S., East Tennessee State University -Health Science: Microbiology; A.S., Walters State Community College - General Studies

S. Kristin Rich

S. Kristin Rich
Assistant Professor of Biology
423-318-2701
kristin.rich@ws.edu

M.S., University of Tennessee - Agricultural Extension and Education; Additional graduate Work at University of Tennessee; B.S., East Tennessee State University - Biology; A.S., Walters State Community College - General Studies

Carl C. Robinson

Carl C. Robinson
Associate Professor of Biology
423-851-4771
carl.robinson@ws.edu

M.S., Eastern Kentucky University - Biology; B.S., Eastern Kentucky University - Biology - Chemistry

William Sproat, Jr

William Sproat, Jr.
Associate Professor of Biology
423-585-6891
william.sproat@ws.edu

M.S., George Mason University - Biology, Additional Post Graduate Work, Kennedy-Western University - Environmental Engineering; B.A., Bridgewater College - Biology

Dr. Jerry M. Wilhoit

Dr. Jerry M. Wilhoit
Associate Professor of Biology
423-798-7952
jerry.wilhoit@ws.edu

D.C., Life University, Doctorate of Chiropractic

Chemistry

Dr. Douglas Hensley

Dr. Douglas Hensley
Professor of Chemistry
865-774-5846
douglas.hensley@ws.edu

Ph.D., Miami University - Inorganic Chemistry; Post Doctoral Fellowship - University of Massachusetts (Amherst); B.S., Miami University - Chemistry

Dr. Lawrence F. Kennard

Dr. Lawrence F. Kennard
Professor of Chemistry
423-585-6878
lawrence.kennard@ws.edu

Ph.D., University of Tennessee - Synthetic Organic Chemistry; Post Doctoral Fellowship, University of Tennessee - Organic Chemistry of Coal; M.S., Morehead St. University - Organic and Analytical Chemistry; B.S., Morehead St. University - Chemistry - Math

Dr. Matthew Smith

Dr. Matthew Smith
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
423-585-6881
matthew.smith@ws.edu

Ph.D. University of Tennessee Knoxville - Organic Chemistry; B.S. William Carey University - Chemistry

Physics

Dr. Sean Cordry

Dr. Sean M. Cordry
Associate Professor of Physics
423-585-6764
sean.cordry@ws.edu

PhD, University of Mississippi – Physics(1995); MA, University of Mississippi – Physics (1992); BS, Harding University – Physics (1990)

Elena Owen

Elena (Olena) Owen
Assistant Professor of Physics/Math
423-851-4772
olena.owen@ws.edu

M.S.,The Krivoy Rog Mining State University, Ukraine

Eugene de Silva

Dr. Eugene de Silva
Associate Professor of Physics and Chemistry
423-585-6890
eugene.desilva@ws.edu

Ph.D. Manchestor Metropolitan University, United Kingdom; M.S. Manchestor Metropolitan University, United Kingdom