The Daily Bulletin



Wednesday June 20, 2018

current weather

104th Basic Law Enforcement class graduates
June 14, 2017

Thirty-nine officers comprising the 104th class of Walters State’s Basic Law Enforcement Academy participated in graduation exercises at the college on June 9.
Based at the college’s Greeneville/Greene County Campus, the academy is an intensive nine-week, 480-hour program. Upon completion, students are awarded the technical certificate in Basic Law Enforcement Officer Education and are eligible to apply for certification by the Police Officers Standards and Training Commission as a certified peace officer in the state of Tennessee after being employed by a law enforcement agency.
The program is part of the East Tennessee Regional Law Enforcement Academy established at Walters State by the POST Commission. It is also part of the college’s Public Safety Center of Emphasis, a designation recognizing its outstanding record in career preparation.
Hawkins County Sheriff Ronnie Lawson was the speaker for the graduation. He challenged the cadets to think about the kind of officers they will be. He told the cadets they will encounter far more good people than bad during the performance of their duty as law enforcement officers. 
 “Take time to talk to them,” Lawson said. “Sometimes the impact that you have will change lives.”

Graduates recognized with awards during the ceremony include:
  • Caleb Taylor of the Harriman Police Department — Academic Award and Defensive and Tactical Driving Award.
  • Mario Foley of the Harriman Police Department — Defensive Tactics Award.
  • Zack Goodwin of the Goodlettsville Police Department — Outstanding Achievement Award for Employee of a Police Department.
  • Cynthia Larregui of the Pigeon Forge Police Department — Dr. Wade B. McCamey Leadership Award.
  • Jeff Walker of the Hawkins County Sheriff’s Office —Outstanding Achievement Award for Employee of a Sheriff’s Office.
  • Michael Steels of the Tennessee State University Police Department —Athlete Award.
  • Thomas Phelps of the Tennessee State University Police Department — Charles Edward Baskette Memorial Award.
  • Corey Pryor of Fentress County, WSCC student — Firearms Award.
  • Cliff Altobelli of Cookeville, WSCC student — Outstand Achievement Award for Student.
Graduates by county include:
Anderson County
Kurt Ingvald William Lauen and Ryan Martini, Oak Ridge Police Department;
Campbell County
Aaron Scott Adkins, Lafollette Police Department; Ned G. Smiddy Jr.; Campbell County Sheriff’s Office; and Billy Joe Lowe Jr. and Tyler E. Minton, WSCC students.
Claiborne County
Thomas Jackson Lefevers, WSCC student.
Cocke County
Ricky Dean Jr. and Aaron Loveday, Cocke County Sheriff’s Office.
Davidson County
Zachary B. Goodwin, Goodlettsville Police Department; and Thomas C. Phelps, Michael V. Steels, Tennessee State University.
Fentress County 
Corey Pryor, WSCC student.
Greene County
Adam Clark Weems, Greene County Sheriff’s Department; and Zachary Ryan Proffitt, WSCC student.
Hamblen County
Nick Cline, Troy D. Rosenfels and William C. Smith, WSCC students.
Hamilton County
Joseph Michael Jansen, East Ridge Police Department.
Hawkins County
Jeffrey Allen Walker, Hawkins County Sheriff’s Office.
Jefferson County
Joshua Matthews, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office; and Kyle Morgan Hager and Corey Daniel Seal, WSCC students.
Montgomery County
Alan James Greenman, WSCC student.
Morgan County
Michael D. Clore, Sunbright Police Department.
Putnam County
Cliff M. Altobelli, WSCC student.
Roane County
Jeffery Coffey, Mario Foley, Caleb Michael Cole Laxton and Caleb W. Taylor, Harriman Police Department.
Sevier County
Cynthia La’Rae Larregui, Pigeon Forge Police Department; Joshua W. Rademacher, Sevier County Sheriff’s Office; and Jeremy Lemonde, WSCC student.
Sumner County
John Alexander Hill and Logan Stewart, Portland Police Department; and Alexander James Shotomide, WSCC student.
Washington County
John Corey Gage, Washington County Sheriff’s Office.
Wayne County
Sheyenne Reeves, Waynesboro Police Department.
Williamson County
Andrew W. Fox, WSCC student.