The Daily Bulletin



Tuesday April 24, 2018

current weather

Walters State Celebrates Honors Night
April 23, 2014

Walters State Community College recognized outstanding students and their accomplishments at its annual Honors Night banquet on April 22.
The college’s highest honor, the President’s Outstanding Student award, was given to four students: Bret Coggins of Dandridge, Karly Frye of Chuckey, David Johnson of Rutledge and Katelyn Madon of Morristown. 
Aimee Robinson of Limestone was named the outstanding student on the Greeneville/Greene County Campus. Randall Wright of Harrogate and Chris O’Connor of Tazewell were named outstanding students on the Claiborne County Campus. Kevin Nickens of Seymour was named the outstanding student on the Sevier County Campus. 
Chrisse Lam of Greeneville was recognized as the outstanding dual enrollment student. William Wolff and Bryson McAvoy, both of Morristown; Rebecca Kingsley of Dandridge; Evan Loy of New Market; and Morgan Levenhagon of Greeneville were recognized as Dual Enrollment College graduates. These students, through Dual Enrollment College, have completed the requirements for an associate’s degree while still in high school.

Chad Harris of Kodak received the Faculty Council Scholarship. Autumn Johnson was recognized as the outstanding staff member of Gallery, the college’s literary and arts magazine. Ryan Herald of Morristown was recognized as the Student Government Association president. Cody Giles of Morristown was recognized as the president of the Senators Pages. 

The following academic awards were given: 
College Express, Allied Health – Jason Shelton of Whitesburg
College Express, Clean Energy – Kevin Bartley of Bean Station
Biology – Heiskell Winstead of Rogersville
Chemistry – Katelyn Madon of Morristown 
Physics – Josh Norris of Sevierville
Mathematics – Kara Godsey of Greeneville and Jason Jones of Morristown
Business-related careers – James Ownby and Anastasia Kiosya, both of Sevierville
Paralegal Studies – Ashley Storey of Sevierville
Administrative Office Assistant – Dana Adams of Russellville
Culinary Arts – Kimberly Riemenschneider of Knoxville
Early Childhood Education – Teresa Atchley of Sevierville
Education – Sarah Caylor of Morristown
Agriculture – Donel Shelton of Rutledge
Clean Energy Technology – Ronald Carlisle of Morristown
Engineering Technology – Jonathan Kraft of Bean Station
Computer and Information Science – Donna Fracarossi of Greeneville
Production Horticulture – Linda Morgan of Morristown
Nursing, Morristown Campus Spring – Barclee Cannon of Sneedville
Nursing, Morristown Campus Fall – Kelly Cardwell of New Tazewell
Nursing, Sevier County Campus – Genna Scalf of Seymour
Nursing, Greeneville/Greene County Campus – Susan Greene of Greeneville
Nursing, Career Mobility – Whitney Cantwell of Sneedville
Physical Therapist Assistant – James Shumaker of Greeneville and Brooke Ausmus of Harrogate
Pharmacy Technician – Thomas Lamb of Eidson
Medical Coding – Kelley Owens of Morristown 
Medical Insurance Specialist – Barbara Tracy of Rutledge and Sylvia Morrison of Morristown
Health Information Technology – Jeannie Rice of Jonesborough
Health Information Coding – Jeannie Rice of Jonesborough
Respiratory Care – Alfred Thompson of Morristown 
Paramedic – Andrew Smith of Goodlettsville
Fire Science – David Casch of Morristown
Criminal Justice – Courtney Newman of Morristown 
Learning Support Writing – Jennifer Wilkinson of Morristown, first place, and Hollie McClure of Thorn Hill, honorable mention
Essays of Excellence – Konnor Donahue of Greeneville
Spanish – Joelle Henry of Morristown
English – Autumn Johnson of Morristown
Creative Writing – Teresa Lane of Morristown
Visual Arts – Ashley Lawson of Morristown
Debate – Zachary Moore of Morristown, Sierra Noe of Talbott; 

Outstanding student athletes were also recognized. Osmond Robinson of Knoxville was recognized as the outstanding student athlete in basketball; Jacob Farr of Strawberry Plains was the outstanding student athlete in baseball; Ryne Thompson of Riceville, Tenn., outstanding student athlete in golf; Marlee West of Morristown, outstanding student athlete in cheerleading; Megan Blaylock of Morristown, outstanding student athlete in volleyball; Karly Frye of Chuckey, outstanding student athlete in women’s basketball; and Kendi King of Russellville, outstanding student athlete in softball.