The Daily Bulletin



Monday June 01, 2020

current weather

Three Students Honored as Leaders of Promise
October 2, 2019

Three Walters State Community College students have been named 2019 
Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars. The announcement was made by Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community colleges.
Recipients are Sara Betz, a business administration major from Cosby; Gabrielle Bogart, a criminal justice major from Knoxville; and Landon Walkowiak, a computer information technology major from Dandridge. Each will receive a $1,000 scholarship. 
“One Walters State student is usually selected for this honor. This is the first year we have three students chosen,” said Dr. Tony Miksa, president of Walters State.
“Sara, Gabrielle and Landon are outstanding students. I look forward to seeing them continue to succeed at Walters State.” 
The Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program helps new Phi Theta Kappa members defray educational expenses while enrolled in associate degree programs. Selections are based on scholastic achievement, community service and leadership potential. Scholarships are funded by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and Phi Theta Kappa. 

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa, make it possible for more deserving students to achieve their educational goals, and support tomorrow’s leaders of the global community.” 
Over 900 students applied and only 200 were chosen.

CUTLINE: Dr. Tony Miksa, left, president of Walters State, congratulates 2019 
Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Gabrielle Bogart and Sara Betz. At right is Dr. Lisa Eccles, professor of biology and PTK advisor. Landon Walkowiak also received this honor but was unavailable for a photo.