The Daily Bulletin



Thursday October 01, 2020

current weather

Academy Class 116 Completes Training
July 21, 2020

Forty-nine students graduated as part of Class 116 of the Walters State Basic Law Enforcement Academy. 
Based at the college’s Greeneville/Greene County Campus, the academy is an intensive nine-week, 480-hour program. Upon completion, students are awarded the technical certificate in Basic Law Enforcement Officer Education and are eligible to apply for certification by the Police Officers Standards and Training Commission as a certified peace officer in the state of Tennessee after being employed by a law enforcement agency.
The program is part of the East Tennessee Regional Law Enforcement Academy established at Walters State by the POST Commission. It is also part of the college’s Public Safety Center of Emphasis, a designation recognizing its outstanding record in career preparation.

The following students received awards at the conclusion of training:
Academic Award: Jason Brock, Oak Ridge Police Department
Defensive and Tactical Driving: Christopher West, Campbell County Sheriff’s Office
Firearms: Jon Luke Myers, Student
Beth Athlete: Zachary Parker, White House Police Department
Outstanding Student Award: Roger Ortiz, Student
Dr. Wade B. McCamey Leadership Award: Steven Amyx, Sullivan County Sheriff’s 
Charles Edward Baskette Memorial Award for Courage and Determination: Megan Poe,  
    Bristol (TN) Police Department
Tennessee Sheriff’s Association Award: Chance Piece, Campbell County Sheriff’s 
Tennessee Association of Chiefs of Police Award: Andre Thomas
Graduates are listed below by county of residence.

Anderson County: Timothy Powers of Briceville, Rocky Top Police Department. 
Blount County: Matthew Jones of Louisville, Sevier County Sheriff’s Department.

Campbell County: Chance Pierce of Jacksboro, Campbell County Sheriff’s Office; Hunter Creekmore of Jellico, also Campbell County Sheriff’s Office.

Carter County: Jacob Hill of Elizabethton, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office; Evan Wade of Elizabethton, Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office.

Carroll County: Steven Sloan of McKenzie.

Claiborne County: Joseph Weaver of Speedwell, Campbell County Sheriff’s Office. 

Cocke County: Justin Shelton of Del Rio, Newport Police Department. Lindsey McMillian of Newport, Newport Police Department.

Cumberland County: Joshua Alderman, Jacob Griffin and Jacob Moore, all of Crossville and all with the Cumberland County Sheriff’s Office.

Greene County: Jon Luke Myers of Greeneville.

Hamblen County: Robert Kitts of Morristown, Hamblen County Sheriff’s Office. Roger Ortiz of Morristown.

Hawkins County: Logan Condra of Rogersville, Bristol Police Department.

Jackson County: Jeremiah Ragsdale of Gainesboro.

Jefferson County: John Latham II of Jefferson City, Jefferson City Police Department.

Johnson County: Caleb Lipford and Faith Poteet, both of Mountain City and both with the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office.

Knox County: Jason Brock and Andre Thompson, both of Knoxville and both with 

Oak Ridge Police Department.

Overton County: Alexander Lindsay of Livingston, Celina Police Department.

Perry County: Jonathan Kelly of Linden, Waynesboro Police Department.

Scott County: Christopher West of Oneida, Campbell County Sheriff’s Office.

Sevier County: Dakota Trentham of Kodak, Sevier County Sheriff’s Office. David Buchan of Sevierville, Sevier County Sheriff’s Office. Hunter Finchum of Seymour, Gatlinburg Police Department.

Stewart County: Jason Knotts of Dover; Zachary Grizzard and Adam Taylor of Indian Mound, all Stewart County Sheriff’s Department.

Sullivan County: William Jones of Bluff City, Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office; Andrew Brown of Bristol, Bristol Police Department; Danny Davis of Bristol, Bristol Police Department; Dalton Henkel of Bristol, Johnson City Police Department; Megan Poe of Bristol, Bristol Police Department; Christopher Caudill of Bristol, Carter County Sheriff’s Department; Steven Amyx, Thomas Buxton and Joseph Page, all of Kingsport and all with the Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office.

Sumner County: Lars Carlson of Gallatin, White House Police Department.

Washington County: Beverly McKinney of Johnson City, Johnson City, Johnson City Police Department.

Wilson County: Allyson West of Lebanon, Mt. Juliet Police Department. Michael Dyce of Mt. Juliet, Mt. Juliet Police Department. Parker Zachary of White House, White House Police Department.

Bristol: Megan Poe, Bristol (TN) Police Department.