The Daily Bulletin



Monday December 06, 2021

current weather

Congratulations to 2021 Academic Award Recipients
May 4, 2021

Anna Adams of Rogersville received the President’s Outstanding Student Award, the highest honor given to a Walters State student. She received the award from Dr. Tony Miksa, college president, during a visit to his office.
Other awards were announced virtually this year due to COVID-19 restrictions. 
Stephanie Holcomb of Sevierville was named Outstanding Student on the Sevierville Campus. She also received the academic award for hospitality business. Chris M. Iorga of Greeneville was named Outstanding Student on the Niswonger Campus. Jarrett F. Kemmerer was named Outstanding Student on the Claiborne County Campus. 
Two Faculty Senate Scholarships were given in memory of Dr. Marc E. McClure, a history professor who passed away in December. Recipients were Ashley R. Lawson of Rogersville and Sydney B. Pryor of Rockford.
Awards also recognized eight Dual Enrollment College awards. These students actually earned associate degrees before receiving high school diplomas: Mashiyat Akand, Elisha J. Brewer, Gabriel A. Lammey, Yahir A. Palacios, Anai Perez Hernandez, all of Morristown; Owen  T. Roberts of Russellville; Anna Haley of Mt. Carmel and Zoe R. Tolzman of Dandridge.

Behavioral and Social Sciences
Daniel L. Herron of Sevierville, history
Denise A. McGinnis of Morristown, early childhood education
Emmaline J. Neas of Parrotsville, education
Kodi M. Ogle of Kodak, behavioral and social sciences

Taylor R. Bell of New Tazewell, business
Jennie L. Grayson of Newport, culinary arts 
Amanda L. Hopson of Jonesborough, paralegal studies
Qihua Huang of Sevierville, accounting
Cole P. Morehouse of Newport, business management
Nicholas C. Roark of Whitesburg, accounting

Health Programs
Johnathan D. Alred of Sevierville, surgical technology
Rosa G. Arguello of Bean Station, medical insurance specialist
Shelley S. Arnett of Dandridge, health information management
Madison G. Brewer of Bulls Gap, nursing (Morristown Campus Spring 2021)
Samantha D. Fair of Morristown, pharmacy technology (entry level, fall 2020)
Amanda Gafford of Greeneville, nursing (Niswonger Campus Spring 2021)
Brittany L. Greene of Greeneville, respiratory care
Derrick W. Grooms of White Pine, nursing, career mobility
Ana A. Hernandez of Morristown, pharmacy technology (advanced level)
Lane D. Jones of Thorn Hill, physical therapist assistant,
Laura E. Moore of Maynardville, occupational therapy assistant
Marina A. Pratt of  Sevierville, nursing (Sevierville Campus Fall 2020)
Brandy K. Ripley of Greeneville, medical coding technician
Haley G. Russell of Sneedville, pharmacy technology (entry level, spring 2021)
Mary Grace Thompson of Morristown, nursing (Morristown Campus Fall 2020)

Elaina Barnett of Newport, music
Lourdes M. Gibert of Whitesburg, Spanish
Kelsi M. Heck of Morristown, visual arts
Dathan M. Hickman of Rogersville, visual arts
Christina F. Lawson of Morristown, English and Essays of Excellence
April L. Liner of Russellville, philosophy
Joshua Isaiah Long of Morristown, debate
Britney R. Newman of Morristown, theatre
Devon S. Ressler of Morristown, creative writing
Chloe M. Robison of Dandridge, “Gallery: editor

Zachary Syester of Harrogate, pre-engineering
Jonathan G. Shell of Morristown, pre-engineering

Natural Science
Brittany S. Hartsock of Kodak, biology
Jordon A. Rodriguez Jr. of Morristown, chemistry
Jonathan G. Shell of Morristown, physics

Public Safety
Christopher D. Altman Jr. of Cosby, fire science
Jaycee Tucker Reff of Rutledge, criminal justice
Meghan E. Sallah of Morristown, paramedic

Technical Education
Hailey D. Hill of Talbott, agriculture
Daren R. Hurley of Johnson City, engineering technology
Jesse J. Smith of Maynardville, computer information technology

Athletic Awards
Peyton M. Calitri of Collierville, baseball
Tylar R. Hayes of Memphis, men’s basketball
Jania K. Hill of Morristown, volleyball
Nicholas F. Noble of Morristown, men’s cross country
Jessica L. Odom of New Market, softball
Nate G. Vaughan of Sevierville, golf
Jaida D. Wiggins of Louisville, women’s basketball
Karli M. Yarid of Talbott, women’s cross country