The Daily Bulletin



Monday December 06, 2021

current weather

Class 121 Completes Basic Law Enforcement Academy
September 23, 2021

Walters State Community College celebrated the graduation of Class 121 on April 17. Thirty-nine new law enforcement offices are ready to serve.
Based at the college’s Niswonger Campus in Greeneville, the academy is an intensive nine-week, 480-hour program. Upon completion, students are awarded the technical certificate in Basic Law Enforcement Officer Education. 

Once employed by a law enforcement agency, graduates are eligible to apply for certification by the Police Officers Standards and Training Commission as a certified peace officer in the state of Tennessee.
The program is part of the East Tennessee Regional Law Enforcement Academy established at Walters State by the POST Commission. It also is part of the college’s Public Safety Center of Emphasis, a designation recognizing its outstanding record in career preparation.

Nine awards were presented to students for outstanding performance in key areas. 
• Academic Award – Jacob Jenkins of the Oak Ridge Police Department
• Defensive and Tactical Driving – Charles Oliver, Union County Sheriff’s Office
• Defensive Tactics – Anthony Johnson, Pigeon Forge Police Department
• Firearms – Zachary Gauthier – Oak Ridge Police Department
• Best Athlete – Cannon Piller, Gatlinburg Police Department 
• David Purkey Leadership Award – Jacob Jenkins, Oak Ridge Police Department
• Charles Edward Baskette Award for Courage and Determination – Brooke Salisbury, Claiborne County Sheriff’s Office
• Tennessee Sheriff’s Association Award – Steve Hancock, Cocke County Sheriff’s Office
• Tennessee Association of Chiefs of Police Award – Noah Makin, Oak Ridge Police Department

Graduates are listed below by area of residence.

Anderson County: Noah Makin of Heiskell, Oak Ridge Police Department; Sarah Yeash of Oak Ridge, Oak Ridge Police Department.
Blount County: Jacob Jenkins of Friendsville, Oak Ridge Police Department.

Carter County: Amanda Patterson of Johnson City, Carter County Sheriff’s Office; Cody Fair of Elizabethon, Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

Claiborne County: Alexis Tabor of New Tazewell, Union County Sheriff’s Office; Brooke Salisbury of Tazewell, Walters State student.

Cocke County: Miranda Williams of Cosby, Cocke County Sheriff’s Office; Steven Hancock and Katelynn Spann, both of Newport, Cocke County Sheriff’s Office.

Cumberland County: Leviticus Gilliam of Crossville, Cumberland County Sheriff’s Office.

Dekalb County: Jody Lattimore and Caleb London, both of Smithville, Dekalb County Sheriff’s Office.

Fayette County: Monique Springfield of Mason, Moscow Police Department.

Hamblen County: Hunter Skeen of Morristown, Hamblen County Sheriff’s Office.

Hamilton County: Lauren Brooks of Ooltewah, East Ridge Police Department.

Jackson County: Joshua Denson and Justin Hancock of Gainesboro, Celina Police Department.

Jefferson County: Anthony Johnson of New Market, Pigeon Forge Police Department.

Johnson County: Gregory Poe and Reise Stout, both of Mountain City, Mountain City Police Department.

Knox County: Zachary Gauthier, Oak Ridge Police Department; Zohaib Raja of Powell, Pigeon Forge Police Department; and Rebecca Daenzer of Knoxville; Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

Pickett County: Jonathan Beaty and Clyde Collier, both of Byrdstown, Pickett County Sheriff’s Office.

Sevier County: Patrick Trentham of Kodak, Gatlinburg Police Department. From 
Sevierville, Jacob King and Cannon Piller, Gatlinburg Police Department; and Hannah Branam, Pigeon Forge Police Department; from Seymour, Matthew Moore, Pigeon Forge Police Department.

Sullivan County: James Quarry and Ashley Sigmon of Bristol, both with the Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office. From Kingsport, Jonathan Lester, Jacob Patton, and Emily Rhoton, all with the Kingsport Police Department; and Tyler McCready of Kingsport, with the Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office.

Union County: Charles Oliver of Maynardville, Union County Sheriff’s Office.
Weakley County: Sean Beck of Gleason, South Fulton Police Department.