The Daily Bulletin



Monday May 29, 2023

current weather

Walters State Celebrates Outstanding Students
April 26, 2023

Walters State Community College celebrated outstanding students withs its annual Academic Awards Banquet on April 25.


Sarah King of Russellville was named the President’s Outstanding Student, the highest honor given to a student. She also received the academic award for math and student athlete award for softball. A math major, she is part of the “Grow Your Own” program with the Hamblen County School System for future teachers.


Brandi Patrick of Morristown received the President’s Choice Art Award, Her painting, “Flowers,” has been purchased and will hang on campus.

Samantha Gonzales and Sean Macklin, both of Sevierville were named the outstanding student on the Sevier County Campus. Kylie E. Keffer of Greeneville was named the outstanding student on the Niswonger Campus and Joshua D. Menza of Tazewell was named the outstanding student on the Claiborne County Campus.

Emma Bowen of Morristown was honored as Student Government Association President and Mariah Dalton of Mooresburg was recognized as president of the Senators Pages.

The Faculty Senate Scholarship was awarded to Trystin P. Carr of Sevierville and Alyson P. Noe of Rutledge.


Eight Dual Enrollment College graduates were recognized. These students have earned associate degrees from Walters State while completing high school: Annika C. Franklin of Greeneville; Adison K. Beeler of Thorn Hill; Joshua D. Menza of Tazewell; RaeEllen M. Coffey of New Tazewell; Haley L. Lebert of Sharps Chapel; Avery J. Watson of Sevierville; Juliet S. Didenko of Sevierville; and Briana C. Polk of Morristown.


Behavioral and Social Sciences

Early Childhood Education: Anita Bremer, Dandridge

Education: Cassidy M. Glenn, Kodak

General Studies: Lauren Van Dee, Sevierville

History: Kristen N. Cansler, Greeneville and Isabella Shults, Morristown

Social Sciences: Faith Rollar, Dandridge


Business and Technical Education

Accounting: Ashton C. Charpentier, Morristown

Agriculture: Hannah R. Brown, Fall Branch

Business Management: Martha Wilson, White Pine

CIT Networking: Gabriel W. King, Seymour

CIT Programming: Stephen Britt, New Market

Culinary Arts: Madisen Madewell, McMinnville

Engineering Technology, Joel B. Sanders, Russellville

Hospitality Business: Georgette Johnson, Sevierville

Paralegal Studies: Paige D. DeRidder, Newport

Production Horticulture: Caitlyn G. Shelton, Kingsport


Health Programs

Nursing Career Mobility: Madison Blount, Newport

Nursing, Morristown Campus: Meredith B. Hodges, Rutledge

Nursing, Morristown Campus: Hannah Lamb, Bean Station

Nursing, Niswonger Campus: Alexis D. Zockoll, Greeneville

Nursing, Sevier County Campus: MacKenzie Hamilton, Seymour

Health Information Management: Alvina Kitchen, Newport

Medical Coding: Melissa Bolling, Morristown, and Melissa Fifield, Rutledge

Medical Insurance Specialist: Tiffany L. Fox, Newport

Pharmacy Technician, Entry Level: Rachel Sharp, Sharp’s Chapel

Occupational Therapist Assistant: Kaylyn M. Denton, Morristown

Physical Therapist Assistant: Sean Van Buren, Johnson City

Respiratory Care: Kaitlinh Shelton, Johnson City

Surgical Technology: Elizabeth Parton, Pigeon Forge, and Christian Serrianne, Greeneville



Creative Writing: Kaitlyn Marshall, Russellville

Debate: Cayden Keltgen, Talbott

Digital Media: Kevin G. Murray, Knoxville

English: Rachael Nester, Morristown

Essays of Excellence: Laura Petry, Blaine

Outstanding “Gallery” Staff Member: Vickie E. Johnson, Knoxville

Philosophy: John T. McKenzie, Cleveland

President’s Choice Art Award: Brandi Patrick, Morristown

Spanish: Elizabethanne G. Duncan, Sevierville

Visual Arts: Stacy Ledford, Rutledge



Mathematics: Sarah King, Russellville

Pre-Engineering: Patrick Ryan Bender of Hendersonville


Natural Science

Biology: Gretchan E. Greene, Morristown

Chemistry: Maria Khilchenko, Sevierville

Physics: Barrett E. Crawley, Gatlinburg


Public Safety

Criminal Justice: James Dale, Jefferson City

Chemistry: Maria Khilchenko, Sevierville

Paramedic: Hallie G. DeMayo, Morristown


Student Athlete Academic Awards

Baseball: Patrick Ryan Bender, Hendersonville

Golf: John T. McKenzie, Cleveland

Men’s Basketball: Malachi Hale, Kingsport

Women’s Basketball: Maiya Reed, Atoka

Men’s Cross Country: Lucas Greineder, Greeneville

Women’s Cross Country: Molly Wright, Morristown

Softball: Sarah King, Russellville

Volleyball: Lora Greenlee, Morristown


In the photo: Sarah King, a math major from Russellville, was named the President's Outstanding Student during Walters State's annual Awards Banquet. From left are Dr. Donna Seagle, vice president of academic affairs; King; and Dr. Tony Miksa, president of Walters State.