The Daily Bulletin



Friday September 21, 2018

current weather

Dr. McCamey, Dr. Chason Honored by PTK
June 13, 2014

Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community colleges, has honored two Walters State Community College leaders with prestigious awards.
Dr. Wade B. McCamey, president of the college, received the 2014 Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction. Dr. Foster Chason, vice president for student affairs, was recognized as a 2014 Distinguished College Administrator.
College presidents are selected for the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, a long-time supporter of the organization. Nationwide, only 14 community college presidents received this award this year.
The Distinguished College Administrator Award is given to vice presidents and deans who have demonstrated a strong level of support for Phi Theta Kappa. Only 25 individuals received this honor in 2014. 
“These awards demonstrate the extent of support the chapter has received from Dr. McCamey and Dr. Chason. We are grateful for their commitment and the encouragement they have always given the Walters State Phi Theta Kappa chapter and our students,” said Dr. Viki Rouse, associate professor of English and advisor to the club.
The awards were announced at Phi Theta Kappa’s 96th annual convention in Orlando, Fla.