Alert:

testing.

About
learn about our college

Admissions
Investing in yourself pays lifelong dividends

Senators Central
Guiding You Start to Finish

Financial Aid
Helping students pay for college

Academics
Providing university transfer and in-demand career programs

Student Services
Helping students succeed

Workforce Training
Offering non-credit courses for both business and pleasure

Center for Workforce Development
Meeting the area's workforce needs

Foundation
Enhancing Walters State through private support

Alumni
Providing opportunities for alumni to reconnect

Campuses
Making education convenient

Expo
Providing agribusiness, educational and commercial activities and events

Contact
Get in touch with us

Athletics
Go Senators!

A-Z Index
Search our site alphabetically

Communications and Marketing
We keep you connected

Directory
Search our team

Quality Enhancement Plan
Student learning and teaching effectiveness development

IET
Information and educational technologies

IEC
Institutional Effectiveness and Compliance

Printing Services
Supplying the institution with quality printed materials

Business Office
Serving students and college departments

Budgeting & Business Services
Serving students and college departments

Global Connections
Bringing international events to our students

Senators Emergency Text
Get the latest emergency communications

Support Staff Council
Providing resources for our staff

Special Events
Bringing new experiences to our students and community

Catalog & Student Handbook
Requirements and college information

Academic & Events Calendar
Keep tabs on important dates

Human Resources
Assisting in hiring, training, evaluating, rewarding and counseling of employees

Policies
Current college-wide policies

Degree Works Help
Run a degree audit. Meet with an advisor. Register for classes.

Privacy
Protecting and honoring student privacy

Career in a Year
Become career ready in a year

Jillian Gorrell

Jillian Gorrell
Learning Center Specialist
865.286.2771
jillian.gorrell@ws.edu M.S., University of Tennessee - Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications;
B.A., Carson-Newman University - Chemistry;
A.S., Florida State College of Jacksonville - Chemistry

Dr. Matthew Smith

Dr. Matthew Smith
Associate Professor of Chemistry and Dean of Natural Science
423.585.6881
matthew.smith@ws.edu Ph.D., University of Tennessee - Organic Chemistry;
B.S., William Carey University - Chemistry

Stanley Strickland

Stanley Strickland
Learning Center Specialist/Executive Aide
423.585.6867
stanley.strickland@ws.edu B.S., East Tennessee State University – Biology

Sherry Woody

Sherry Woody, C.P.S.
Executive Aide
423.585.6928
sherry.woody@ws.edu A.S., Walters State Community College

Biology

Dr. Lisa A. Eccles

Dr. Lisa A. Eccles
Professor of Biology
423.318.2768
lisa.eccles@ws.edu Ph.D., Old Dominion University and Eastern Virginia Medical School - Biomedical Science;
M.S., The Medical College of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University - Medical Technology;
B.S., Christopher Newport University - Biology w/minor in Chemistry;
A.A., Santa Fe Community College - Chemistry

Ashley Frazier

Dr. Ashley D. Frazier
Assistant Professor of Biology
423.585.6887
ashley.frazier@ws.edu Ph.D., James H. Quillen College of Medicine at ETSU - Biomedical Sciences: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology;
M.P.H., East Tennessee State University - Epidemiology;
B.S., University of Tennessee - Microbiology

Elesha Goodfriend

Elesha D. Goodfriend
Assistant Professor of Biology
423.318.2775
elesha.goodfriend@ws.edu M.S., Florida Institute of Technology - Biological Oceanography;
B.S., Morehead State University - Secondary Biology Education

Dr. Abigail Mabe

Dr. Abigail Goosie
Associate Professor of Biology
423.585.2656
abigail.goosie@ws.edu Ph.D., James H. Quillen College of Medicine at ETSU - Biomedical Sciences;
B.S., East Tennessee State University - Biology

Dr. D. Cyd Grice

Dr. D. Cyd Grice
Area Coordinator of Natural Science, Sevier County Campus and
Professor of Biology
865.774.5824
cyd.grice@ws.edu D.V.M., University of Tennessee - Veterinary Medicine;
B.S., University of Tennessee - Animal Science

Mary Griffin

Dr. Mary Griffin
Assistant Professor of Biology
423.798.8168
mary.griffin@ws.edu Ph.D., University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture – Plants, Soils and Insects;
M.S., University of Tennessee – Education;
B.S., University of Tennessee – Botany

Dennis Jones

Dr. Dennis Jones
Assistant Professor of Biology
865.585.6874
dennis.jones@ws.edu D.C., Life University – Doctor of Chiropractic;
N.M.D., Capital University – Doctor of Naturopathy Medicine;
M.S., New York College – Human Anatomy and Physiology Instruction;
B.S., Lincoln Memorial University – Biology

Dr. Kamal Malik

Dr. Kamal Malik
Assistant Professor of Biology
865.774.5849
kamal.malik@ws.edu Ph.D., University of Guelph - Biology;
M.S., Niagara University - Biology

Kelly Moore-Roberts

Kelly Moore-Roberts
Assistant Professor of Biology
423.585.6932
kelly.moore@ws.edu M.S., East Tennessee State University – Environmental Health;
B.S., East Tennessee State University –  Biology;
A.S., Walters State Community College – Biology

Sam O'Dell Jr.

Dr. Samuel R. O'Dell Jr.
Instructor of Biology
423.851.4771
samuel.o'dell@ws.edu Ph.D., University of Georgia – Science Education;
M.S., Middle Tennessee State University – Biology;
B.S., East Tennessee State University – Biology;
A.S., Walters State Community College – General Studies

Jaime Parman-Ryans

Dr. Jaime Parman-Ryans
Associate Professor of Biology
423.798.7974
jaime.parman@ws.edu Ph.D., James H. Quillen College of Medicine at ETSU – Biomedical Sciences: Biochemistry & Molecular Biology;
M.S., James H. Quillen College of Medicine at ETSU - Biomedical Sciences: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology;
[Additional Graduate Work - James H. Quillen College of Medicine at ETSU];
B.S., East Tennessee State University - Health Science: Microbiology;
A.S., Walters State Community College - General Studies

S. Kristin Rich

S. Kristin Rich
Associate Professor of Biology and Assistant Dean of Natural Science
423.318.2701
kristin.rich@ws.edu M.S., University of Tennessee - Agricultural Extension and Education;
[Additional Graduate Work - University of Tennessee];
B.S., East Tennessee State University - Biology;
A.S., Walters State Community College - General Studies

William Sproat, Jr

Dr. William Sproat, Jr.
Professor of Biology
865.774.5855
william.sproat@ws.edu Ed.D., East Tennessee State University – Environmental Biology, Educational Leadership;
[Additional Post-Graduate Work, George Mason University - Environmental Biology, Educational Leadership];
M.S., George Mason University - Biology;
B.A., Bridgewater College - Biology

Lynette Wick

Lynnette Wick
Associate Professor of Biology
423.585.6880
lynnette.wick@ws.edu M.S., Youngstown State University – Biology;
B.S., Youngstown State University – Biology

Dr. Jerry M. Wilhoit

Dr. Jerry M. Wilhoit
Professor of Biology
423.798.7952
jerry.wilhoit@ws.edu D.C., Life University - Doctorate of Chiropractic

Chemistry

Lura Johnson

Lura Johnson
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
423.585.6878
lura.johnson@ws.edu M.S., Western Carolina University - Chemistry;
B.S., Queens University of Charlotte - Biochemistry;
B.S., Western Carolina University - Nursing

Physics

Dr. Sean Cordry

Dr. Sean M. Cordry
Professor of Physics
423.585.6764
sean.cordry@ws.edu Ph.D., University of Mississippi – Physics;
M.A., University of Mississippi – Physics;
B.S., Harding University – Physics

Elena Owen

Elena (Olena) Owen
Associate Professor of Physics/Math
423.851.4772
elena.owen@ws.edu M.S., The Krivoy Rog Mining State University, Ukraine

Eugene de Silva

Dr. Eugene de Silva
Professor of Physics and Chemistry
423.585.6890
eugene.desilva@ws.edu Ph.D., Manchestor Metropolitan University, United Kingdom;
M.S., Manchestor Metropolitan University, United Kingdom

Katherine Stone

Dr. Katherine D. Stone
Associate Professor of Geology and Physics
423.585.6862
katherine.stone@ws.edu Ph.D., University of Tennessee - Geology;
M.S., Sam Houston State University - Physics;
B.S., Sam Houston State University - Physics