News Briefs

SIFE among top teams in nation

Walters State’s Students in Free Enterprise team has once again placed in the top ten in international competition among college teams promoting the free enterprise system and a better understanding of economic issues. The team represented the southeast region at the international finals, held in Kansas City on May 14 and tied for seventh place out 42 colleges and universities from around the world.

Public Safety programs receive high praise in peer reviews

Walters State’s Criminal Justice Technology program is one of the top 25 programs of its kind in the nation, according to an expert who recently visited WSCC to conduct a formal review. Professor Lee Colwell, director of the University of Arkansas criminal justice program and former associate director of the FBI, conducted the review of WSCC’s Public Safety A.A.S. degree program and the Basic Police Officer Education program. A separate peer review of Basic Emergency Management Technology, also produced high praise.

From the Foundation Up

One-hundred-fourteen Walters State Foundation trustees and guests experienced firsthand the legendary hospitality for

which Sevier County has become known when they met on Monday, May 14, at the Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg for their 26th annual meeting. During the meeting, the trustees elected new officers, Executive Committee members and trustees. Gene Jolley, president of Lakeway Container in Morristown, was elected to replace Charles Terry as president of the foundation for 2001-2002.

Under Terry’s leadership, the foundation has raised over $1.5 million in new gifts since October. And for the seventh year in a row, the foundation is expected to average over $2 million in donations. Current foundation assets exceed $8.5 million. Other newly elected officers include Bill Young, president of Young’s Furniture Manufacturing Company, vice president; and E. J. Hardin, Claiborne County businessman and former mayor of Tazewell, secretary.

Newly elected to the 15-member Executive Committee were Harry Glass, retired president of Third National Bank; and Johnny McCrary, president of Massengill-McCrary Realtors and chairman of the board of Jefferson Federal Savings and Loan.

Newly elected to serve on the foundation board of trustees were R. Michael Fishman, William T. Hale, Dr. Carroll M. Helm, Norman Helm, Joel A. Hice, Marian E. Oates, Harvey Plummer, William G. Swann, and F. Braxton Terry.

A highlight of the meeting was the presentation of a film produced by Walters State depicting the growth and development of the college’s foundation during its first 25 years. The film was first presented to the college’s governing board, the Tennessee Board of Regents, when they met on the Walters State campus in March.

The business portion of the dinner meeting concluded with special recognition being extended to new members of the President’s Trust, the college’s major donor recognition society. Those honored by having their portraits unveiled included Norman Helm, president of Helm Corporation; Mike Fishman, assistant publisher of the Citizen Tribune and president-elect of the Morristown Area Chamber of Commerce; F. Braxton Terry, Walters State alumnus and attorney with Terry, Terry, and Stapleton; Dr. Carroll Helm, dean of the Walters State Greeneville/Greene County Center for Higher Education; and Marian Oates, Sevierville civic leader and member of the college’s adjunct faculty and Walters State Sevier County Development Council.

Following the business meeting, the trustees and their guests enjoyed a leisurely late-evening tour of the impressive Aquarium of the Smokies, ranked as on the world’s top five aquariums.


Back to Hub main page