Students Honored by Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation

April 2, 2024

Coca-Cola Scholars
From left are Dr. Brock Fisher, vice president for academic affairs; Dr. Lisa Eccles, professor of biology and Phi Theta Kappa advisor; scholars Kelly Nguyen and Melody Hawkins; and Dr. Tony Miksa, president of Walters State.

Students Named Coca-Cola Scholars

Two Walters State Community College students have been named to the All-Tennessee Academic Team and honored as Coca-Cola Scholars.

Kelly Nguyen, a biology major from Sevierville, was named a Coca-Cola Gold Scholar, and Melody Hawkins, a social work major from Jefferson City, was named a Coca Cola Silver Scholar. Nguyen has received a $1,500 scholarship and Hawkins, a $1,250 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.

“Kelly and Melody have distinguished themselves through scholarship, leadership and service to the college,” said Dr. Tony Miksa, president of Walters State. “I congratulate both and wish them the best as they transfer to complete their bachelor’s degrees.”

Coca-Cola Scholars represent the top 150 community college students across the country. Students are nominated by college administrators with the final recipient chosen by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. Selection is based on academic achievement, leadership and engagement in college and community service.

Awards are presented in conjunction with Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community college students. 

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, president of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa to make it possible for more deserving students to achieve their educational goals and support tomorrow’s global community leaders.”